PLU Symphonic Band

Thursday, February 20, 2025 at 7pm Lagerquist Concert Hall, Mary Baker Russell Music Center

Pacific Lutheran University The College of Professional Studies and School of Music, Theatre & Dance present

PLU Symphonic Band

Ron Gerhardstein and Matt Vegh, conductors

Thursday, February 20, 2025 at 7pm Lagerquist Concert Hall, Mary Baker Russell Music Center

Welcome to Lagerquist Concert Hall.

Please disable the audible signal on all watches and cellular phones for the duration of the concert.

Use of cameras, recording equipment, and all digital devices is not permitted in the concert hall.

PROGRAM

Amparito Roca	••••••	Jaime Texidor (1884-1957)
•		arr. Aubrey Winter
	Matt Vegh, conductor	·
Tarantella		Carol Brittin Chambers (b. 1970)
Song for Terra		Yukiko Nishimura (b. 1967)
	Ron Gerhardstein, conductor	
Sedona		Steven Reineke (b. 1970)
	Matt Vegh, conductor	
Caribana Afterparty		Omar Thomas (b. 1984)
•	Ron Gerhardstein conductor	` '

About the Conductors



Ron Gerhardstein is the Director of Bands and Associate Professor of Music at Pacific Lutheran University. Dr. Gerhardstein has enjoyed a long career as a music educator in public school and collegiate settings. At PLU, he directs the Wind Ensemble and he teaches coursework in the music education curriculum, including: Band Repertoire and Rehearsal, Woodwind Labs I/II, Percussion Lab, Music and Culture, and PLUS 100: Transitions to PLU. Dr. Gerhardstein earned a Ph.D. in music education from Temple University where he studied with Edwin Gordon and Beth Bolton. He also attended the University of Idaho, earning a Bachelor's degree in music education, and a Masters of Music in saxophone performance studying with Robert Miller. Dr. Gerhardstein is a frequent workshop clinician, guest conductor,

and festival adjudicator. Prior to coming to PLU in 2014, he was the band director at West Valley High School in Yakima where his band program had a reputation for excellence in all areas (concert band, jazz band, and marching band). He has proudly served as an honor band conductor on several occasions, most notably the 2019 APAC Honor Band in Kobe, Japan, and the 2017 WMEA Junior All-State "Rainier" Band. A passionate advocate for music education, Ron is an active member of WMEA, currently serving a two-year term as WMEA President. Dr. Gerhardstein makes his home in Tacoma with his wife, Jerilyn, an elementary teacher librarian in the Bethel School District.



Matt Vegh graduated from Pacific Lutheran University in 2012 with a Bachelor's of Music Education (K-12 band and K-12 music) and Central Washington University in 2016 with a Master's of Music in wind band conducting, where he studied with Lewis Norfleet and Mark Lane. Professor Vegh also teaches at Steilacoom High School. At SHS, he directs Wind Ensemble, Percussion Ensemble, Symphonic Band, Jazz Band, and has taught AP Music Theory. His concert bands consistently receive Superior ratings at festivals, while percussion ensemble frequently performs at the WIAA/WMEA State Ensemble Contest, and has performed as a guest ensemble with PLU's Percussion Ensemble twice. Matt Vegh's primary instrument is saxophone. He studied privately with Tracy Knoop, Dr. Erik Steighner, and online with Chad

Lefkowitz-Brown. He has been fortunate to perform with the Columbia Basin Jazz Orchestra, South Sound Symphonic Band, Sophisticated Swing Jazz Band, and various other groups in the Pacific Northwest.

Pacific Lutheran University Symphonic Band

Listed alphabetically by section

Flute

Ashton Allen Kera Buckmaster Evergreen Burling Ellen Coburn Kaitlynn Koehn Iris Lee Kade Levien Juliyana Mandzyuk Michelle Owen Jadeyn Reeves Isis Romero-Chavez Margaret Stuart

Oboe/English Horn

Sara Atwood Gabrielle Guerrero Sophia Pancoast Jayden White

Bassoon

Owen Johnson Grace Karns Syd Thayer-O'Brien

Clarinet

Meaghan Austin-Cortez Abigail Caprye Matthew Helmer Katelyn Hight Bethani Juarez Riley Judd Andrew Lee Xavier McMains Sophia Ramos Bella Woodland

Bass Clarinet

Abigail Caprye Eli Lockhart

Alto Sax

Steven Blankenship Kyrsten Campbell Denny Corson Elizabeth Dawson Abbie Hughes Diana Kaufman Courtney Lazzarini Anthony Millspaugh Piero Ramirez

Tenor Sax

Conor Beach Brandon Harwood Cadence Philbeck Grace Weddle

Baritone Sax

Aidan Hille Noah Ping

Horn

Ben Coats James Gibson Cameron Holden William Lindsay Elizabeth Oie Rosalyn Tobeck

Trumpet

Devin Bianchi-Rivera Lydia Brannan Clara Chabot Gaje Dequis Joan Fort Allison Howes Alby Jones Connor Kaczkowski Brandon Liukkonen Sylvie Manz Jess Mason Levi Read

Trombone

Christian Ayala Jasper Bragg Lola Chargualaf Sabien Kinchlow-McConnaughey Max Minjares Jaden Pulido-Hughes Sarah Zundel

Euphonium

Josh Green Jevon Ignaco Cody Nutter Nick Salas Jenea Staples

Tuba

Preston Hill
David Hobson
Tyler Kim
Cassidy Stanhope
Lillian Woolery

Double Bass

Kindra Gonsalves Taya Lovejoy Campian Roberts

Percussion

Kyle Gough
Ben Hegge
Rory Lacy
Rachel Mower
Evan Nakanishi
Caden Pulido
Adrian Ragil
Ronin Schoolcraft
Jenea Staples
Joseph Wilcher
Jenna Woods